Combined Academic Calendar

2019-2020 Academic Calendar

This calendar provides you with a few select dates you should keep in mind as you take classes at the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences (GSAS), the School of Forestry (FES), School of Management (SOM) and/or Yale Law School (YLS). Note that not all dates are included. For a more comprehensive academic calendar, please visit each school’s website.

Fall 2019

Aug. 21 (Wed)
Courses available for viewing
Fall-term Online Course Selection begins (GSAS)
Aug. 26 (Mon)
Fall term classes begin (LAW)
Aug. 28 (Wed)
First day of classes
Fall term classes begin (GSAS, FES, SOM)
Aug. 30 (Fri)
Friday classes don’t meet. Monday (Sept. 2) classes meet instead.
Sept. 2 (Mon)
Labor Day; classes do not meet.
Sept. 4 (Wed)
Add/Drop period ends (LAW, SOM)
Sept. 11 (Wed)
Submit final course schedules
Course registration closes (GSAS)
Oct. 4 (Fri)
Last day to withdraw from a course offered in the first half of the fall term.
Fall-1 course drop deadline.
Oct. 10 (Thu)
Session-1 classes end (SOM)
Oct. 11-14 (Fri-Mon)
October recess; no classes will meet (LAW)
Oct. 16-18 (Wed-Fri)
October recess (GSAS)
Oct. 21 (Mon)
Session-2 classes begin (SOM)
Oct. 25 (Fri)
Final day to withdraw from a fall term course and/or change enrollment from Credit to Audit or Audit to Credit
Midterms (GSAS)
Nov. 25-29 (Mon-Fri)
November recess (GSAS,SOM, LAW)
Dec. 4 (Wed)
Classes end, 9 p.m. (LAW)
Dec. 6 (Fri)
Undergraduate & FES courses end
Classes end, 5:30 p.m. (Yale College, FES)
Dec. 10 (Tue)
Classes end (SOM)
Dec. 12 (Thu)
Classes end, 5:20 p.m. (GSAS)
Dec. 13-18 (Fri-Wed)
Final exam period (GSAS)

Spring 2020

Jan. 2 (Thu.)
Final grades for fall-term courses due (GSAS, SOM) Final day to submit a request for Temporary Incomplete (GSAS)
Jan. 8 (Wed)
Courses available for viewing
Spring term online course selection begins (GSAS)
Jan. 13 (Mon)
First day of classes
Spring term classes begin (GSAS, FES, SOM, LAW)
Jan. 18 (Fri)
Friday classes do not meet. (GSAS,FES, SOM)
Jan. 20 (Mon)
No class
Martin Luther King Jr. Day (No Classes)
Jan. 21 (Tue)
SOM classes begin, add/drop period ends 8:30 a.m. (LAW)
Jan. 24 (Fri)
Submit final course schedules
Final day for registration. Monday classes meet (SOM)
Feb. 4 (Tue)
Last day to withdraw from a course offered in the first half of the Spring term.
Spring 1- course drop deadline.
Mar. 3 (Tue)
Spring-1 classes end (SOM)
March 6
Final day to withdraw from a fall term course and/or change enrollment from Credit to Audit or Audit to Credit
Midterm (GSAS)
Mar. 6-23 (Fri-Mon)
Spring recess begins 5:20 p.m. (GSAS, FES, LAW)
Mar. 16 (Mon)
Classes resume (LAW)
Mar. 25 (Mon)
Spring-2 classes begin (SOM)
Apr. 20 (Mon)
Classes end, 9:00 p.m. (LAW)
Apr. 24 (Fri)
Undergraduate classes end
Classes end, 5:30 p.m. (Yale College)
Apr. 27 (Fri)
Classes end, 5:00 p.m. (FES)
Apr. 30 (Thu)
Classes end, 5:20 p.m. (GSAS)
May 5 (Tue)
Classes end (SOM)
May 1-6 (Fri-Wed)
Final exam period (GSAS)
May 8 (Fri)
Final grades are due for candidates for terminal MAS, MA degrees to be awarded at Commencement
May 17 (Sun)
Graduate School Convocation
May 18 (Mon)
University Commencement
May 29 (Fri)
Final Grades for spring-term courses and full-year courses are due. Final day that faculty may submit a request for the assignment of Temporary Incomplete (GSAS)