GLBL 792

The Jackson Institute invites applications for GLBL 792, Ethical Choices in Public Leadership, with Eric Braverman.

Interested students should submit their application no later than noon on Monday, August 5, 2019.
Students will be notified of the outcome of their application by Monday, August 12, 2019. 

Every public leader must make choices that challenge his/her code of ethics. Sometimes, issues of life or death may be at stake. How and when should a leader decide to let some people die – or explicitly ask people to die – to give others a chance to live? At other times, while life or death may not be at stake, still a leader must decide difficult issues: when to partner with unsavory characters, when to admit failure, when to release information or make choices transparent. This interdisciplinary seminar on Ethical Choices in Public Leadership will draw upon perspectives from law, management, and public policy in exploring how leaders develop their principles, respond when their principles fail or conflict, and make real-world choices when, in fact, there are no good choices.

The course will include simulations, group discussion, and guest lectures from leaders in government, business, and society.

Course schedule:
Thursday, September 5, 2019, 5:00 p.m.-7:00 p.m.
Friday, September 13, 2019, 8:30 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Friday, September 27, 2019, 8:30 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Friday, October 11, 2019, 8:30 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Friday, October 25, 2019, 8:30 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Friday, November 8, 2019, 8:30 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Friday, November 22, 2019, 8:30 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Friday, December 6, 2019, 8:30 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Friday, December 13, 2019, 8:30 a.m.-12:00 p.m. (may be used for exam)

All classes will be held in the Seminar room at Horchow Hall on 55 Hillhouse Avenue.

GLBL 792 Seminar Application

Submissions for this form are now closed.