Ann Kurth, PhD, RN, CNM, MPH is Dean, and Linda Koch Lorimer Professor, Yale University School of Nursing; and Professor, Epidemiology of Microbial Diseases, Yale School of Public Health. Yale Nursing was the world’s first university-based school of nursing, and it advocates for “better health for all people.” 

She is an elected Fellow of the National Academy of Medicine (former Institute of Medicine), and a Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing. She was a member of the 2014-2018 US Preventive Services Task Force, which sets screening and primary care prevention guidelines for the United States. She is a member of the New York Academy of Medicine and of the CT Academy of Science and Engineering. Professor Kurth is 2018-2020 chair of the Consortium of Universities for Global Health (CUGH), the 190+-university member academic global health network whose mission is to support“academic institutions and partners to improve the wellbeing of people and the planet through education, research, service, and advocacy.(

An epidemiologist and clinically-trained nurse-midwife, Professor Kurth’s research focuses on HIV/reproductive health, and global health system strengthening, particularly in the context of climate change (see

Her work has been funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIAID, NIDA, NIMH, NICHD), the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, UNAIDS, CDC, HRSA, and others, for studies conducted in the United States and internationally.  She has consulted for the NIH, Gates Foundation, WHO, USAID and CDC, among others. 

Professor Kurth has published over 200 peer-reviewed articles, book chapters, and scholarly monographs and presented at hundreds of scientific conferences and invited talks. She has received awards for her science and leadership including the Friends of the National Institute of Nursing Research Award and the International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame award from Sigma Theta Tau International, the global nursing honor society. She chairs the National Academy of Medicine’s Board on Global Health, 2018-2020.