Fellows collaborate with U.S. policy-makers on leading-edge research and high-profile publications for a global audience.

Nineteen Yale University students have been named Kerry Fellows for the 2022-2023 academic year.

Part of the Kerry Initiative founded by Special Presidential Envoy for Climate Change and the 68th US Secretary of State John Kerry YC ’66, the Fellows collaborate with U.S. policy-makers on leading-edge research and high-profile publications for a global audience touching on issues from the global environment to democracy and technology.

The students, coming from diverse backgrounds and life experiences, represent Yale College and several of Yale’s graduate and professional schools, including the schools of Management, Environment, Public Health, Law, Global Affairs, and the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences.

“Each year, the number of applicants to be Kerry Fellows grows, as does the list of fellowship alumni working everywhere from the State Department to USTR and parliaments around the globe. It’s fast becoming a powerful network of thinkers, doers, and practitioners supporting each other,” said David Wade, who directs the Kerry Initiative.

“This year’s selectees, our sixth cohort of Fellows, each bring a diverse set of strengths, talents, and lived experiences to the work ahead, spanning everything from service in uniform to service in legislatures and agencies domestic and global. They will learn from each other, and whether their passions are climate change, technology, democracy, or global justice they will make a difference in a very complicated world. We hope this Fellowship will help them do that, which is exactly what Secretary Kerry and Dean Levinsohn envisioned when they created it,” Wade added.

The 2022-2023 Kerry Fellows are:

  • Nadia Ahmad (School of the Environment)
  • Karam Alhamad (Jackson School of Global Affairs)
  • Darryl Alexander (Jackson School of Global Affairs)
  • Nathan Chael (Yale Law School)
  • Hayoung Choi (Jackson School of Global Affairs)
  • Graeme Clements (Jackson School of Global Affairs)
  • Lily Engbith (School of Management)
  • Tunde Fakiyesi (School of Management)
  • Caroline Finley (Jackson School of Global Affairs)
  • James Hatch (Yale College)
  • Rekha Kennedy (Yale Law School)
  • Marley Miller (Jackson School of Global Affairs)
  • Philip Mousavizadeh (Yale College)
  • Manuela Nivia (Jackson School of Global Affairs)
  • Francesca Nyakora (Yale College)
  • Paulina Prasad (Jackson School of Global Affairs)
  • Pranav Savanur (School of Public Health)
  • Henry Wu (Yale Law School)
  • Wei Xiang (Graduate School of Arts and Sciences)

Read more about this year’s Fellows