2022-2023 Academic Calendar

Jackson School of Global Affairs

The 2022-2023 academic calendar provides you with important dates to keep in mind as you plan to enroll in courses at Yale University. Note that the dates & deadlines for each professional school vary. Those taking courses at other schools at Yale must adhere to the academic calendar that pertains to that school.

*Dates are subject to change until the official 2022-2023 Bulletin has been published.

Fall 2022

Aug. 22 (Mon)
Orientation begins
Aug. 24 (Wed)
Course selection begins
Aug. 30 (Tu)
Orientation ends
Aug. 31 (Wed)
Fall term classes begin
Sept. 2 (Fri)
Friday classes don’t meet. Monday (Sept. 5) classes meet instead.
Sept. 5 (Mon)
Labor Day; classes do not meet.
Sept. 14 (Wed)
All schedules must be finalized
Course selection closes
Oct. 13 (Thu)
Fall 1 classes end
Fall 1 classes end
Oct. 19 (Wed))
October recess begins, classes don't meet
Oct. 24 (Mon)
Fall 2 classes begin
October recess ends, classes resume
Oct. 24 (Mon)
Midterm, final day to request course change from credit to audit and vice versa and to add/drop a course. Final day to withdraw from a course without a “W” on final transcript.
Nov. 21 (Mon)
November recess begins, classes do not meet
Nov. 28 (Mon)
November recess ends, classes resume.
Dec. 16 (Fri)
Fall 2 classes end
Classes end and final examination period begins.
Dec. 21 (Wed)
Final examination period ends. Online spring course registration closes.
Dec. 22 (Thu)
Winter recess begins

Spring 2023

Jan. 9 (Mon)
Final grades for fall-term courses due
Jan. 16 (Mon)
Classes do not meet
Martin Luther King Jr. Day
Jan. 17 (Tue)
Classes begin
Jan. 20 (Fri)
Monday, Jan. 16, classes meet
Friday classes do not meet
Mar. 7 (Tu)
Midterm - Final day to request course change from credit to audit and vice versa and to add/drop a course. Final day to withdraw from a course without a “W” on final transcript.
Mar. 10 (Fri)
Spring 1 classes end
Spring 1 classes end
Mar. 13 (Mon)
Spring recess begins, classes do not meet
Mar. 27 (Mon)
Spring 2 classes begin
Spring recess ends, classes resume
May 4 (Thu)
Full term classes end, final examination period begins
May 11 (Thu)
Spring 2 classes end
Final examination period ends
May 17 (Wed)
Final grades for graduating students are due
May 22 (Mon)
University Commencement

Summer 2023

May 29 (Mon)
Summer term begins
Dates vary
10-week internship for first-year MPP students
Aug. 18 (Fri)
Summer term ends